FILE UNDER:SPIRITUAL JAZZ BARCODE: CD:5036468201012 2LP:5036468001018




01 Come, Listen to Me  - Gerry McClelland play button
02 Unicorn - Don Rendell Five play button
03 Pharoah Sanders -Billy Jenkins play button
04 Pipe of Peace - Frank Evans play button
05 Put the Wood on the Fire- Hotpoints play button
06 Dunkelfunk  - Inner Ear play button
07 Sunspots - RedBrass
08 I Dream Of - Big Sun
09 Down in the Hollow - Midland Youth Jazz Orchestra
10 A North Country Lass Tells Her Sorrows  - Robert Shaw & The Dick Hawdon Quintet
11 Bikini Atoll -Big Baffle
12 Bending over Backwards - Music Explosion
13 Senufo Chant  - Pat Crumly Sextet


It's been three years since Jazzman's A New Life collection alerted jazz heads to the existence of an unknown world of British jazz private pressings and indie obscurities. Back for a second round, compilers Francis Gooding and Duncan Brooker have dug deep into the archives to assemble another ground-breaking collection of Brit jazz anomalies and outliers from the 1970s and 1980s.

A New Life Vol. 2 picks up the story where volume one left off, searching out overlooked jazz gems from across the length and breadth of the British Isles. When the major labels and the record industry left jazz out in the cold, musicians and jazz enthusiasts took the initiative. Indie labels made space for established artists and experimental outsiders alike, while local groups and youth bands turned to private pressings to document their music and build their own scenes. From London blues renegade Billy Jenkins's spiritual tribute to Pharoah Sanders and the swinging vocal artistry of Belfast-born Gerry McClelland, to the thunderous big band sound of Leicester's Music Explosion and the modal drama of the Don Rendell Five, A New Life Vol. 2 reveals another fascinating layer of forgotten Brit jazz history.

Fully researched and presented with in depth liner notes, Jazzman Records again brings you the unheard, unorthodox and under-rated sound of the British jazz underground!